Street Hop Magazine

"Underground Hip-Hop Blog"

Upsire – Shadows In The Night (Album)

Chicago-based emcee, Uspire, delivers his first solo work, Shadows In The Night, a conceptual-based project dealing in the sharp realities of life. Backed entirely by top notch instrumentals from the legendary Pete Rock, Uspire takes you on a winding journey through varying levels of pain and misfortune. In the hour of darkness, he provides a source of light in an ambitious attempt to revive souls and restore faith in humanity. While creating a paradigm shift within the mind, he invites the listener to re-examine past experiences and see them from a new perspective.

This project offers social commentary, diverse storytelling, and points of introspection, all while maintaining a complex rhyme style. Guest features include Add-2 and Sohjé, both Chicago natives. Album artwork done by Domi V. Mixed and mastered by Albert Romero.

01. Silver Lining
02. See Tomorrow
03. Little Decisions
04. Gotta Be More
05. Loving The Light
06. Past, Present, Future
07. Souliberate [Interlude]
08. Hood Samaritan
09. Fate
10. One More Angel (feat. Sohjé)
11. Bilocation Theory [Interlude]
12. American Nightmare
13. The System (feat. Add-2)
14. All Things (feat. Sohjé)


July 5, 2016 Posted by | Mixtapes, News | , , , , | 1 Comment

ADD-2 & Maja7th – The Evils (Single)

Indianapolis producer Maja7th (Freddie Gibbs, Mikkey Halsted, L.E.P Bogus Boys), connects with Jamla Records artist ADD-2 (Chicago) as he sharpens his lyrical blade, to bring you this gritty/grimey audible gift “The Evils,” which features a cornucopia of chi-town emcee samplings on the cuts by DJ Metrognome. This track doesn’t feature on any album, but anticipate hearing more from both Maja7th and ADD-2 in 2016.


February 2, 2016 Posted by | Audio, News | , , , , | Leave a comment

Maja7th – Get Familiar (Album)

After unveiling his recent promo trailer and single “My Season.” Indianapolis, IN based producer Maja7th finally releases his long overdue compilation album “Get Familiar” the self explanatory title is a veritable collage of his previously released and new material. This 14 track project was crafted by Maja7th to get new and old listeners more acclimated to his discography, his distinctive sound and the man behind the boards. The Indiana beat-smith epitomizes musicality with his background in music theory, along with his proficient ability to play a multitude of instruments, which include the piano, french horn and trumpet. All showcased on this particular project.

“Get Familiar” plays host to alot of artists both established, and up and coming, all of them perfectly complimenting that signature Maja7th sound. The collaborations on this compilation range from the likes of Freddie Gibbs, ADD-2, Pill, Scheme, ILL Brown, Mikkey Halstad, Vic Spencer, L.E.P. Bogus Boys to newer artists such as Neak, Bubby B, Sauce, Griffen, Real Talk and more. Having already previously been featured in powerhouse websites such as DJBooth, 2dopeboyz, FakeShoreDrive, Maja7th hopes to bring his music/production to an even bigger audience this year, so… “GET FAMILIAR!”

01.) On My Own (feat. Freddie Gibbs & Mikkey Halsted)
02.) Bar-Baric (feat. ILL Brown & Waterr)
03.) My Season (feat. Bubby B & Sauce)
04.) Coffin (feat. Starrs & Murph)
05.) Get Ready (feat. Real Talk)
06.) Disappointed Lounge (feat. Sulaiman, Vic Spencer, Simeon & Mathien)
07.) Goddess (feat. Bubby B)
08.) Gold Bahz (feat. Griffen)
09.) Workin (feat. Pill & L.E.P. Bogus Boys)
10.) The Storm (feat. Scheme & ADD-2)
11.) What It Is [Get Familiar] (feat. Mike Schpitz)
12.) All Night Long (feat. Neak)
13.) Highs & Lows (feat. Dave Coresh)
14.) Happyness (feat. Dominique Larue)


June 2, 2015 Posted by | Audio, Mixtapes | , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment