Street Hop Magazine

"Underground Hip-Hop Blog"

Platinum Pied Pipers (Waajeed + Saadiq) To Release New Album “Abundance”

Abundance marks the arrival of PPP as a band. They have developed a new sound that’s even bigger, and an album that’s more dynamic and organic than their first. While Triple P brought worldwide notoriety to the Detroit-based PPP production crew and their global collective of like-minded and soulful collaborators, Abundance raises the stakes. They have reclaimed the music of their city. The golden Motown era sounds that their parents played while they were growing-up have been given a thorough and respectful re-rub for a new century and a new generation of listeners.

Since the release of Triple P, Waajeed and production partner Saadiq moved from Detroit to Brooklyn. And while Brooklyn-life may have changed their sound, it’s also made them appreciate their Motor City roots which are audible throughout the album, the majority of which was mixed in Detroit by Grammy award winning engineer Todd Fairall. From the Motown vibe of “On a Cloud” the super-soulful gospel-tinged first single that exemplifies the new PPP, to the techno-influenced “Rocket Science,” Detroit is evident throughout. Prior to the release of Abundance, PPP performed new tracks to packed crowds in Europe on a 25-date Fall tour in a warm-up for 2009.

Official Tracklisting:
1. Angel
2. Smoking Mirrors
3. On A Cloud
4. Luv Affair
5. Go, Go, Go
6. Sanctuary
7. Aint No Ifs Or Maybes
8. Pigeon Hole
9. Lovers And Haters (Interlude)
10. The Ghost Of Aveiro
11. Countless Excuses
12. American Pimp
13. Dirty Secrets
14. Rocket Science
15. Goodbye feat. Dabrye

December 10, 2008 - Posted by | News | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: