Street Hop Magazine

"Underground Hip-Hop Blog"

Reks Set To Drop New Album “Grey Hairs” In Stores July 22nd

Veteran in the Boston Hip-Hop Scene, rapper Reks teamed up with DJ Statik Selektah to produce his highly anticipated sophomore album Grey Hairs. With production from the legendary DJ Premier and Large Professor, Grey Hairs is guaranteed to be a modern-day classic!

The momentous album features an all-star production team starting with the legendary DJ Premier, Large Professor, Blaze P, DC The Midi Alien, Soul Theory, DEMOBeatz, 1914 and ten tracks by Statik Selektah. The guest list includes Consequence, Skyzoo, Krumb Snatcha, Termanology, Jon Hope, Paula Campbell, Big Shug and Lucky Dice. Grey Hairs will be available worldwide July 22nd, 2008 on Showoff / Brick Records.

Offcial Tracklisting:
1. Grey Hairs (produced by Blaze P)
2. The One (produced by Statik Selektah)
3. Say Goodnight (produced by DJ Premier)
4. How Can It Be (produced by Statik Selektah)
5. Stages (produced by Large Professor)
6. All In One (5 Mics) ft. Lil Fame of M.O.P. (produced by Blaze)
7. Next 2 Me (produced by DC The Midi Alien)
8. Money On The Ave ft. Skyzoo (produced by Soul Theory)
9. Black Cream (The Negro Epidemic) ft. Big Shug (produced by Statik Selektah)
10. Love Sweet Misery (produced by Statik Selektah)
11. Rise (produced by Statik Selektah)
12. Telescope ft. Jon Hope & Lucky Dice (produced by Statik Selektah)
13. Day 2 (produced by Statik Selektah)
14. Premonition ft. Termanology & Consequence (produced by Staik Selektah)
15. My Life ft. Paula Cambell (produced by Blaze P)
16. Cry Baby (produced by Statik Selektah)
17. Long While (produced by 1914)
18. Big Dreamers RMX ft Termanology & Krumb Snatcha (produced by Statik Selektah)
19. Isiah (produced by DEMObeatz)

Check out the new single, click the link below to download:
Reks – Say Goodnight (Produced By DJ Premier)

June 4, 2008 Posted by | News | , , , , | 2 Comments

Sick Jacken & Muggs Connect With Necro To Form New Group “PCP”

There is a new album in the works from Death Rapper Necro & La Coka Nostra / Psycho Realm affiliate Sick Jacken featuring production from DJ Muggs in the works. According to the Sexorcist himself, “We allready recorded 3 songs so far, 1 song is completely done, and is a fucking banger!!! that’s the level, the bar that we are setting for this project. At this point, Muggs is doing all the beats. If I have it my way, he will do the entire album”.

Necro explains the concept; “The idea behind PCP came when me and Jacken kept talking about working together on tour, when we did Canada together” he added, “Psycho+Logical- connects with Psycho Realm, it just seemed catchy cuz we both rock psycho in our names and that’s where “PCP” came from, and Jacken was feeling the concept. The C in PCP stands for Cypress, so it was meant to be” No word yet on a release date.

June 4, 2008 Posted by | News | , , , , | 6 Comments

Dumhi & Producer Haji Rana Pinya Presents New Album “Yoga At Home v.1”

With a tentative release date of June 24th, Yoga At Home v. 1 is the first in a series of Ep’s which feature Haj’s sample heavy beats, along with some of hip hop underground’s most exciting new artists. Master Swami Vishnu, a legendary yoga instructor and spiritual guru in his own right, hosts the Ep and uses the extended metaphor of home yoga techniques to celebrate the benefits of all therapeutic practices which can be performed in perfect solitude. Whether you find spiritual awakening through exercise, meditation, music, art, or even the funky mystic buddha leaf.. chances are you will be able to relate to Master Vishnu’s instruction and follow him along the path of enlightenment.

Joining Master Vishnu and Haj are some of hip hop’s brightest rising stars. Che Grand drops by to work through some Sun Exercises; Reef the Lost Cauze and Von Pea of Tanya Morgan share some breathing techniques which they have found beneficial; and Doap Nixon of Army of the Pharaohs fame offers some rather untraditional methods of relaxation. With hiphop legend Sadat X (Brand Nubian) providing the Yoga At Home Theme Song, Yoga At Home v.1 promises to be a wonderful alternative for fans seeking music a bit to the left of the norm.

Check out “Go Left” off the new album, click the link below to download:
Soulbrotha & Kay (of The Foundation) – Go Left

June 4, 2008 Posted by | News | , , , , , | Leave a comment

Slick Rick On Karmaloop TV

Pioneering rapper Ricky “Slick Rick” Walters, who spent more than five years in prison on a 1991 attempted murder conviction and faced threats of deportation years after rehabilitating his life, was granted a full and unconditional pardon Friday by New York Gov. David Paterson. met up with Slick Rick to get the scoop. Shouts to Chelsea!

Check out Rick on KarmaloopTV, click the link below to view video:
Slick Rick On KarmaloopTV

June 4, 2008 Posted by | Videos | , , | Leave a comment

Serius Jones Dropped From Ludacris Record Label DTP Records

It seems like Bobby Valentino is not the only one who will leave the Disturbing Tha Peace camp. Serius Jones was dropped from the label. Jones is best known for defeating battle rap heavyweight Jin. Jones won 12 consecutive battles at New York’s Monday Night Fight Klub before facing and beating Jin Tha Emcee who when battled by Jones was the Fight Klub King. Since then the New Jersey emcee received a number of record label offers before ultimately deciding to ride with DTP in early 2007.

Reports say Serius is the one to blame, not the record label. It was revealed that Serius Jones´ attitude was the major factor why Luda kicked him out. What will happen to his debut album “Life Is Serius” now? It was set to be released late 2008 on Disturbing Tha Peace / Def Jam.

June 4, 2008 Posted by | News | , , , , | 20 Comments