Street Hop Magazine

"Underground Hip-Hop Blog"

RapTalk.net Exclusive Q&A Interview Session w/ Faro

Raptalk.net this week caught up with one of the UK’s best up coming emcees, Faro for another exclusive question and answer session. Faro has just released his brand new debut street album called “Clean Up Season” featuring the likes of Lil Wayne, Juelz Santana, Sizzla and Brux De Ville. He takes time out to talk about his brand new project, what he thinks of Hip Hop in the United Kingdom and what hes experienced so far in his career, make sure you download or listen to his new CD “Clean Up Season” at the end of the interview.

Dub MD: Faro, What’s good?
Faro: I’m cool cuz just trying to stay on my grind.

Dub MD: For those who don’t know, could you just give a short review of what you’ve experienced in your rap career up until now?
Faro: Well I started rapping back in 2000 for a short while but with an American accent (laughs), then jumped onto garage later that year in my own accent. I then went onto grime and called all that a day in 2004 after hosting a radio show in Manchester with some friends / fellow mc’s and holding resident spots in a few clubs. I picked up a mic again late 2005 and started rapping, went for an audition in 06′ for a show on T4 (UK’ Channel 4) called Chancers 2006, got through on that and went out to Houston to work with Mathew Knowles and his people. I didn’t win the show but I came back focus and realised what I needed to do was develop myself coz my bars were all over the place.

Whilst developing my skills I have been doing shows ( i.e. supporting Akon in Manchester and rolling with his entourage, supporting Jagged Edge and playing in various clubs around the UK) and working on my own tracks and with other artists.

Dub MD: Coming from Manchester, what do you think of the UK music scene right now?
Faro: The UK music scene on a whole ain’t hot bruv. It’s hard to make it out here because if you’re black / urban you are getting slept on straight. Hip-Hop and R&B doesn’t sell here like it does in the States and Europe so labels aren’t really too interested. Some people in the UK are not as focussed as those in the US and we have a long way to go. In the US guys are getting mixtape deals, DJ’s are hooking up with rappers and putting them on, everybody has a lane and knows what they are doing, if you’re a DJ you’re a DJ, if you’re a battler, you’re a battler, if your gangster your gangster, you go hard at whatever u do.

Over here people aren’t so clued up that’s why you have guys making tracks for the 1 st time and putting them on Channel U hoping for over night success. Kids are rating wack artists coz they’re on TV and wack artists then believe they’re hot and don’t think they need to improve so the levels in the UK are low. (Laughs) I’m only being real. There are only about 20 guys if that in the UK Urban scene who are hot (mainly coming from the grime scene though) but the labels don’t give a kick.

Dub MD: A lot of people are saying “Hip Hop Is Dead” lately, how do you feel about the current state of hip hop?
Faro: Music on a whole isn’t what it used to be, it isn’t just hip-hop. Hip-hop is very much alive, but money can’t be made off it like the old days.

Dub MD: Do you have a new project in the works? What’s it called? And what can heads out there expect from it?
Faro: Yeah I’ve been recording a lot since late 2006 and had a lot of material stacked up so I decided to do a compilation / street album which contains a good 22 of the 70 or more tracks I recorded in the year. The album is called “Clean Up Season” coz that’s what I’m trying to do, Clean Up out here. It’s kind of like a mixtape but it isn’t as hard as a mixtape as there are a few album type tracks on there.

94% of the beats are original too so you can hear what a good up and coming UK rap producer sounds like ya dig. People should expect something different from this compilation as I ain’t like the UK rappers before me i.e. Klashnekoff, Rodney P, Skinny Man, Ty, Sincere, Bigz etc, I’m different, I’m from up north, raised down south and love state side rap, so I mix all those flavours in my style.

Dub MD: With this project, what artists & producers are you connecting with this time round?
Faro: In this project I mainly worked with Kid British & J.Raymond. They are both producers from Manchester and have a lot of skills when it comes to producing. I also have tracks on this project produced by Thy courtesy of Frsh Entertainment, Bigga Man from London and Eli.T from Ipswich. I’ve got a few features on there tracks with Dels, English, Delta Force (formerly of Boyz N the Hood), Brux De Ville, Juelz Santana, Panama and Lil Wayne.

“Kids are rating wack artists coz they’re on TV & wack artists then believe they’re hot and don’t think they need to improve so the levels in the UK are low”

Dub MD: What’s your label situation like just now?
Faro: I’m currently unsigned at the moment. I’ve had a few people try and get at me but I wanna put in a lot more work before I sign anything.

Dub MD: What do you think is your most defining and unique characteristic that sets you apart from every other emcee out there?
Faro: My accent and my flow. I’m easy to understand and I stick to a beat nicely. It ain’t perfect but I’m working on it.

Dub MD: If you could describe yourself as an emcee in 4 words, what would they be?
Faro: Calm, Cool, Fresh & Nice.

Dub MD: For your fans who haven’t seen you perform yet, are you planning a Worldwide tour anytime soon?
Faro: I wish! (laughs) Nah I’m not on that level yet, let me build up the fan base and ask me that same question this time next year and see what the answer is then.

Dub MD: What is on tap for Faro for the rest of 2007 and beyond?
Faro: Just hard work I’m striving to be one of the best, I’m trying to improve my bars, my song writing, my performance and everything so I’m watching the game and seeing what I need to do to step up. I’m also trying to feature on tracks with a lot of artists to get my name out even more so if you’re nice and you’re not on a joke ting holla at me, real talk!

Dub MD: Do you have anything to say to the fans? Anything you wanna get off your chest? Any shout outs?
Faro: Yeah shout out to God for putting me here, all those who support me, all those who listen to my music, all the peeps who are rapping in the UK but feel like giving up coz everyone seems to be on a grime ting or coz labels want something weird and different, my manager / sister Thai, the rest of my family & all my real peeps, you know who you are and anyone who feels like they have been disrespected in this interview, it’s business never personal. Last but not least shouts to my boy Dub MD, he’s showed me a lot of support and respect so I show it back. Loyalty brings forth royalty.

You can download or listen to Faro’s new CD “Clean Up Season” exclusively through the link below:
Faro – Clean Up Season
http://www.datpiff.com/Faro-Dub-MD-Clean-Up-Season-mid8874.html

December 5, 2007 - Posted by | Interviews | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

