Street Hop Magazine

Underground Hip Hop News

RapTalk.net Exclusive Q&A Interview Session w/ Torae

Raptalk.net have been given the chance to hook up with Brooklyn emcee Torae. Fresh of his two collaborations with DJ Premier, Torae is set to release his new cd entitled “Daily Conversation”. Torae sits down with Rap Talk to speak on what hes experienced so far in his career, his brand new project and his label situation. Make sure you check out the brand new exclusive from Torae from the new album entitled “Callin Me” at the end of the interview.

Dub MD: Torae, What’s good?
Torae: Everything thing good homie, I feel great!

Dub MD: For those who don’t know, could you just give a short review of what you’ve experienced in your rap career up until now?
Torae: Lucky you said the short review (laughs). Well most people know me from the 2 records I recorded with DJ Premier & Skyzoo. Some from my affiliation with The Justus League. Some heads may have seen me out on tour with eMC (Masta Ace’s new group) and Marco Polo across Canada, or caught me on the new 9th Wonder album. I actually came in the game with Cam & The Diplomats back in like 2000 though. And I worked with DJ Clark Kent for a few years as well. That’s the short version.

Dub MD: Coming from Brooklyn, what do you think of the New York music scene right now?
Torae: The New York scene is a little stagnant right now. The mainstream is anyway. But the underground & indie scene is bubbling rather nicely. There are a ton of dope MC’s under the radar right now, they just need someone to bring ‘em up from the farm team to the pros.

Dub MD: A lot of people are saying “Hip Hop Is Dead” lately, how do you feel about the current state of hip hop?
Torae: Hip Hop isn’t dead by any means. It’s really saturated though. It’s so many cats doing it & doing it poorly that it looks horrible from a far. But if you’re in it, you know it isn’t dead. The right people just need to be given a shot. The music business isn’t hip-hop. And that’s what’s dying.

Dub MD: Do you have a new project in the works? what’s it called? and what can heads out there expect from it?
Torae: Yezzir, my new project is entitled “Daily Conversation”. Me & my DJ Vega Benetton put together 15 joints that showcase what 2 students of hip-hop can do when they are called to the head of the class. As far as what you can expect, expect to be pleased with the music. I think it has great replay value. The beats knock, the bars are on point. It’s a really good buzz starter.

Dub MD: With this project, what artists & producers are you connecting with this time round?
Torae: For “Daily” I reached out to some of my homies to assist me on the rhymes so I got dudes like, Skyzoo, Stimuli, Teflon, Chaundon & few other lyrical beasts. As far as production Vega Benetton got a couple joints on there, Marco Polo, Premo, Khrysis, 9th a new kid outta Seattle named Eric G. I got a couple other big names on there as well, can’t give it all out right now though. (laughs)

“The New York scene is a little stagnant right now. The mainstream is anyway, but the underground & indie scene is bubbling rather nicely. There are a ton of dope MC’s under the radar right now.”

Dub MD: What’s your label situation like just now?
Torae: Internal Affairs Ent. all day, that’s my company. I have distribution for this project through Fat Beats. I spent a lot of time in the past trying to get a deal but honestly with the internet and the way the market is there isn’t a need for an artist like me to sign with a major. I’m not gonna make music they feel is profitable and they’re not gonna give me any more money than what I can make on my own. I have relationships with wonderful producers and artists, I have a nice following with my supporters, no need to sign to shine!

Dub MD: What do you think is your most defining and unique characteristic that sets you apart from every other emcee out there?
Torae: I have a nice combination. I know how to make a wide array of records, my stage show is high energy, I’m witty & knowledgeable & I grew up on hip-hop. Loving it & studying it from the mid to late 80′s. So I have an understanding of it that’s different from a cat who just started or who got in it to make bread. I was here when the money wasn’t & I’ll be here god forbid when the money is gone.

Dub MD: If you could describe yourself as an emcee in 4 words, What would they be?
Torae: Creative, Empowering, Thoughtful & Fantabulous!

Dub MD: For your fans who haven’t seen you perform yet, are you planning a worldwide tour anytime soon?
Torae: I have a Spring tour in the works with Supastition, Skyzoo & Emilio Rojas. It’ll be statewide. As far as the world I’m open to book. I had the pleasure of hitting Canada already, headed to the UK in the next few weeks. And thats about it. Any booking agents can gladly hit me on the space & we’ll make it pop.

Dub MD: What is on tap for Torae for the rest of 2007 and beyond?
Torae: November 27th is Daily Conversation & we’re gonna end the year off like that. A nice 4th quarter album for the people. Top of the year is shows & all the features I’ve done are dropping. I got records with Kweli, Sean Price, O.C, DJ Babu & many, many more so look for all of those. Spring is the tour & I’m working on a group album with Marco Polo that should be out around 3rd or 4th quarter next year. ’07 was heaven ’08 just as great.

Dub MD: Do you have anything to say to the fans? anything you wanna get off your chest? any shout outs?
Torae: Shouts to everyone that’s helped me get to this point. There are way to many to name so I won’t try. November uh hmm Flow-vember 27th I’m gonna get a lot off my chest in the form of my album “Daily Conversation” so go check for it. And hit my myspace page (
www.myspace.com/dayoungvet) now to hear the sampler. To my supporters I just wanna say thank you. In my mind I’ve been a rapper since day one, now it’s a reality. I may not be a household name yet, but I quit my job September ’06 and I haven’t went hungry yet. So hip-hop is paying my bills. That’s all I ever wanted. Peace!

Check out this brand new exclusive called “Callin Me”, Right click & save as to download:
Torae – Callin Me (Produced By Eric G.)
http://media.raptalk.net/audio/Torae – Callin Me.mp3

November 18, 2007 - Posted by | Interviews | , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Justus League Affiliate Vandalyzm says:

    “If you still havent grabbed the joint…what you waiting on?? Its free…and its dope…and I can promise its some music on here you HAVENT heard from ya boy…

    33 minutes of awesome ass joints from my album…old classics (in my mind of course) and Joints you honestly have no business hearing cause DJ Trackstar stole em from me…

    Production by myself, 9th Wonder (Erykah Badu, Jay Z, Destiny’s Child), Swiff D (Juelz Santana, Talib Kwelli), Flying Lotus, Khrysis (Little Brother, Buckshot, Sean Price), and others!

    http://www.zshare.net/audio/5190412f9e71ac/

    All in all…a damn good prelude to my album, MEGATRON MAJORZ which drops December 18th!!!”

    Comment by djtrackstar | November 29, 2007 | Reply

  2. torae daily conversation is Hot to death!!!

    Comment by Anonymous | May 16, 2008 | Reply

  3. best ultraportable laptops

    Comment by Best Ultraportable | April 10, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

